Life, Set in Motion

I know, I have been a bad blogger!

Things have been so hectic, starting work and getting into a groove at home with Tori and Josh has not been easy. I have had a melt down or two on the way, but I think it is safe to say, I have found my new rhythm and I am now learning to dance to the beat of my own drum.

Lots has happened and there is lots I want to talk about , I have a constant stream of things in my head that I know I just need to get out there and get my blog on.

I think the biggest (and best) thing that has happened since returning to work, was a little session of self evaluation. You know those “Am I really happy” questions?

In theory, the answer should be yes! From any outside perspective it would look like I had it all! But to me it felt like was a sheep stuck in a hole (help me, I am stuck sheep – chop) I was looking at my life feeling like I had not achieved, or attempted to achieve anything that would add self worth. The hard realization that I HAD actually reached my “glass ceiling” career wise and that was it for me.

It was like having my own aha moment, Oprah style. I promptly got off me backside and enrolled for a course through INTEC ( seeing as I had missed the UNISA enrolment) and I knew if I did not do it now , I would use the excuse of needing to enroll at UNISA and forgetting to do it in March, simply because I would be comfy with “where” I was again.

So within the next few days, I will be getting my material to study for a Public Relations certificate, I have worked out which subjects I will write exams for in June and which will be written In December. THERE IS NO TURNING BACK NOW. The best part is, I enrolled for something that has got absolutely nothing to do with what I do at what, but simply something I have always wanted to do!

This set other things in motion for me, I had a look at my mental to do list, and most of the to do’s have been hanging around for nearly 4 yrs now, much like my studying.

The first thing the irked me was the state of my house, inside, so went and bought some new furniture and yes I know a few couches and dining room suite is not the means to all happiness, it’s a means to me doing what makes me happy. My couches are no longer something my dad gave me; the lounge suite isn’t something my other in law passed on. Its mine! I worked very hard for it, and I look at it as a sign of achievement, of moving forward rather than backward.

I have also got the motivation to add some colour and creativity into my life, by painting over the drab off white (actual ly white but faded with age) enamel walls my Gran painted 20 yrs ago! This has been on my to do list for over 3 yrs now, and as shallow as it sounds, it makes me very very very happy.

This is just the beginning for me; I am adamant that I will teach my children that achievement does not discriminate against age!

For the first time, in a long time, I am excited and I cannot wait for 2012 to roll around!

Till next time ( soon I hope)

Cheers, Chow,Adios or whatever the appropriated sign off is

ME

Leave a Reply

